If You Liked….Then Try….

There isn’t anything I don’t love about Cassandra Clare’s Prequel Series The Infernal Devices. The love triangle between Tessa, Jem, and Will is a story for anyone! If you’re like me, then at the end you’ll give your heart to these characters, you’ll laugh with them and even cry with them. I loved this series, and I’m guessing if you’re reading this article then you loved this series too! If you are still broken hearted over the ending of the series, here are 5 books that will help you move on from the heartache!

 

Lauren Kate captured my heart and soul with her series, Fallen. I have always been one that liked to read about past lives and loves so when I read the summary to the first book, I couldn’t keep from opening it up and falling in love with all the characters in this series.

The reason why this series is similar to the Infernal Devices is because of the paranormal fantasy part of it, the love story, as well as the boarding school that both authors incorporated within their story. I particularly adore both of the love triangles though in Fallen the love triangle is more in the first book than the others. I love the difference in both of the series too! Plus, have you seen the covers?!

 

Amanda Hocking has always been one of my favorite authors. All of her stories are unique and capture my heart in so many different ways! So much so that I recently just bought two of her series! Amanda’s trilogy Trylle has always been a beloved trilogy of mine and one that I’ve gone back to several times to reread!

Besides the paranormal fantasy and the love triangle, another reason why this trilogy is so similar to the Infernal Devices series is because of the uniqueness of the story. Besides the different world aspect, it also has imaginary creatures and two beautiful worlds that the main character is caught between! Did I mention she is a lost princess?

 

I haven’t read many of Julie Kagawa’s books but her series The Iron Fey really captured me. First, the cover was just so beautiful that it drew me in to pick up the book! Secondly, the story of Meghan was just so amazingly written that I couldn’t not read this series.

Once again, we have paranormal fantasy and a love triangle. Though, this book is perhaps maybe more like Amanda Hocking’s trilogy, Trylle, because of it’s faery theme, it also reminds me some of Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices because both Meghan and Tessa are eerily similar in many ways. They both feel different, they’re both magical, and they both are used as pawns in their stories.

 

Many people know Gena Showalter from her paranormal romance, the Lords of the Underworld but she recently just finished a series called Everlife. Tenley’s story was so unique and different that I couldn’t help but love it.

Besides the one common denominator, this story has realms instead of worlds and in order to enter a realm you have to die. Besides the worlds, Everlife and the Infernal Devices are both roughly set around a school or in the Everlife series, an Asylum. Though, there is somewhat of a love triangle, but it’s a difficult and confusing one to explain. The series is also very action packed and detailed which helps it to imagine the story.

 

 

Mother-Daughter duo P.C. and Kristin Cast aren’t as popular as the other authors in this list, but their series House of Night, are international bestsellers! The House of Night series follows Zoey Redbird as she is marked as a fledging (possible vampyre) and moves to the House of Night school. I have read almost all the books, and I have actually restarted the series and am currently on Tempted, the sixth book of the series.

Besides the paranormal fantasy genre being the common denominator, the setting of the House of Night series is also a school. There’s the common two worlds and hate crimes that are in both the Infernal Devices and House of Night. Zoey and Tessa are also alike with the love triangles, though Zoey is in more love triangles than Tessa’s one between her, Jem, and Will. I really enjoyed the House of Night series.

 

Each story is different and every author writes differently. I loved reading each series and I’ve gotten different feelings from each one. I love all of the authors and all of the characters just the same.

 

*Most of the books can be found at either library in the Teen Section.

** All the books can be found on our Digital Library.