Website Resources: Novelist (What to Read After…)

If you’re like me and hate that slump after finishing a series and not knowing what to read next, then this blog is for you. Under the Online Resources tab on the Aurora Public Library District website, you’ll find a link to the website Novelist. Novelist offers short biographies of authors as well as synopses of over 120,000 fiction titles. Novelist also offers series and author read-a-likes, so you can find your next great read.

For example, I just finished rereading the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling in anticipation for the new Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them movie, which will be released on November 18. So I went on Novelist to try to find series read-a-likes:

Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini


In a fantasy world, a fifteen-year-old boy named Eragon finds a rare dragon’s egg. He raises the dragon on his own and becomes one of the legendary and outlawed Dragon Riders. Now Eragon is set with the task of restoring the Dragon Riders back to their former glory and defeating the tyrannical King Galbatorix over a series of four books.

Pendragon by D.J. MacHale


Fourteen-year-old Bobby Pendragon is destined to save the magical world of Denduron. He is whisked away from everything he has ever known to a new land where he must defeat a magical ruler and play a role in the revolution to overthrow the evil Saint Dane. This series takes place over ten books where Bobby ages and matures, just like Harry does throughout his series.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer


Artemis Fowl is a twelve-year-old genius who is trying to restore his family’s fortune to its former glory. Magic and futuristic technology collide in a world of fairies over the course of eight books, where Artemis grows into a criminal mastermind with an arch-nemesis.

Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan


Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is shocked to learn that he is a demigod after fighting off monsters and trouble for his entire life. He begins training at Camp Half-Blood and learns that his father is Poseidon, the ancient Greek God of the Sea. It is up to Percy to start a quest to dispel a war between the Greek gods. This series is told over the course of five books where tensions mount and the stakes are raised, and Percy has to save the world over and over again.

In my opinion, Rick Riordan tells stories in a similar way to J.K. Rowling, which is why I love his other series (Heroes of Olympus, Kane Chronicles, Trials of Apollo, and Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard) so much. If you’re looking for a series similar to Harry Potter, I would start with Percy Jackson & the Olympians and then the Heroes of Olympus series.

If there’s a series you love so much that you were depressed when it was over and ate a whole box of cookies (don’t judge), then Novelist is a great tool for you to use. Also, be sure to look into SelectReads as well. SelectReads sends monthly newsletters to your email address based on your book preferences to help you find your next favorite author and series.

Happy Reading!